Bittern Demise

Very sad to write I found the remains of a Bittern yesterday afternoon, close to the river north of South Heighton which had more than likely fallen victim to a Fox. I`d seen which was almost certainly this bird in flight late on Tuesday afternoon heading over the railway line and disappearing into reeds bordering the private fishing site.

On a happier note this last week has seen a return of the pair of Bearded Tits to the east side of the river, a redhead Goosander was on the river today, the long staying Grey Plover remains and two Common Sandpipers are regular mostly around Piddinghoe. The Corn Bunting flock has varied from four to forty birds and can be elusive as I found this weekend as I didn`t see any.

At Newhaven west beach this morning two Ravens flew off as I arrived and before I could get any images, plenty of Fulmars prospecting nest sites and interacting with much head shaking and cackling. A brief glimse of a Black Redstart as it flew past unfortunately not to be seen again. A surviving Stonechat showed well and eight Rock Pipits noted.

Leave a comment